Motherhood in the words of another journalist!

When I read this I really wanted to share….because this mother – my friend & colleague – spoke the same language as me – a language that sometime bewilders my single friends. Loved every line she wrote; especially this – “The first time she touched my cheeks to sense what I was – that was bliss. That feeling would remain unmatched for the rest of my life” – Shyamala Seetharaman

motherhood-2

I know this post is passe but I can’t help it. I’m so used to writing boring year-end copies while at work. So, by force of habit, here is my round up of 2013.
1. I quit my job in January so there’s nothing much to write about it. For now, I’m a sit-at-home mom but, consciously, not the nighty wearing (I hate the outfit!), constantly cribbing, mega serial watching type. Not yet. Hopefully never.
2. I kept physically and mentally busy during the break from work. As planned, my daughter was delivered with relative ease. Normal delivery has become such a rarity, everyone was surprised and reconfirmed to make sure they heard it right 
3. My daughter was a revelation, in a way that I started to question my own perceptions of me. For starters, never did I know I could be hysterical; helplessly screaming at the middle of the night was not a trait I possessed ever before.
4. My daughter cried non-stop through the night during her first month. I never knew newborns would have trouble sleeping. Mine did, and now I know, most babies do. It took our family quite a while to figure out that my daughter was not hungry when she screamed at night but was terribly sleepy and didn’t know how to doze off. “Sleep like a baby” is an expression I’ve come to loath in the last nine months.
5. Four straight hours of sleep is a luxury I have been denied for the last 11 months.
6. Become a mother to know your lowest lows – physically and emotionally. I can write a whole book on this.
7. Become a mother to know your strengths – physical and emotional. I constantly lecture unsuspecting victims on this 
8. My daughter was about four months old when she consciously started to practice motor skills. She realised her limbs could be used to hold, grab and touch. The first time she touched my cheeks to sense what I was – that was bliss. That feeling would remain unmatched for the rest of my life. All the pains of motherhood are worth enduring for moments like these.
9. I’ve become super efficient. With a toddler to attend to 24*7, I don’t have a choice

Leave a Reply

