Who loved best?

mother
“I love you, mother,” said little John;
Then forgetting work, his cap went on,
And he was off to the garden swing,
Leaving his mother the wood to bring.
summer love eduard nickzy
“I love you, mother,” said rosy Nell;
“I love you better than tongue can tell;”
Then she teased and she pouted full half the day,
Till her mother rejoiced when she went to play.
 picking cherried paul seignac
“I love you mother,” said little Fan;
“Today I’ll help you all I can;
How glad I am that school doesn’t keep!”
So she rocked the baby till it fell asleep.
 Feeding the rabits Fredrick Morgan
Then, stepping softly, she took the broom,
And swept the floor, and dusted the room;
Busy and happy all day was she,
Helpful and cheerful as child could be.
 Listening to the lark percy tarrant
“I love you, mother,” again they said-
Three little children going to bed;
How do you think that mother guessed
Which of them really loved her best?
-Joy Allison
Leave a Reply

